Parallax showing Lota;cloud dashboard

The beginning of the Lota.cloud adventure

This adventure began in Canada after a stay in Kanata, Ontario. We were hosted for a month at Wesley Clover, one of our investors, where we were able to talk to many technology companies such as Mitel, AirVM and Solace. The latter was just launching its new Cloud service.

Through these meetings, we realized that the migration to the Cloud is a major transformation for companies. The transition to this new technology requires effective control and management tools for a smooth journey.

The development of the Cloud and its issues

As the cloud develops and the Internet evolves, companies are migrating more and more infrastructures to IaaS/PaaS services and replacing business software with SaaS applications. These IaaaS/PaaS/SaaS services have subscription-based payment methods, depending on usage or number of users. This leads to a real difficulty in managing and controlling expenses.

At first glance, the Cloud seems to reduce expenses because it pools resources and allows you to adjust the invoice according to its use. But the cloud environment can sometimes be much more complex to manage and costs can quickly become uncontrollable. Over the course of the meetings with the companies, here is what we found:

  • Reallocating expenses by customer, employee, project or business is not easy;
  • Consolidating invoices for different cloud services (IaaaS/PaaaS/SaaaS) takes time;
  • Analysing the invoice according to suppliers is complex and technical;
  • The management of an often oversized virtual infrastructure necessarily leads to the optimization of its Cloud expenses.

 

A start-up to meet the needs of companies

Today, the Lota team is working on these difficulties in using Cloud services. The Lota.cloud cost management platform is a tool dedicated to recovering all cloud invoices to enable companies to better manage their virtual environments and optimize their cloud expenses. Our platform provides a global view of expenses and access to cost details for each service.

Based on its agnostic API, Lota.cloud is agile: the platform adapts to the evolutions of cloud service providers. The data will be processed according to our model which allows us to easily add new suppliers.

We believe that the Cloud is an essential part of tomorrow's economy and that companies are therefore looking to better manage their hosted resources and optimize their expenses. The Lota team wants to develop a solution adapted to the needs of companies and businesses in the Cloud.

 

Any questions, ideas?

Today, the Lota team is working on these difficulties in using Cloud services. The Lota.cloud cost management platform is a tool dedicated to recovering all cloud invoices to enable companies to better manage their virtual environments and optimize their cloud expenses. Our platform provides a global view of expenses and access to cost details for each service.

Based on its agnostic API, Lota.cloud is agile: the platform adapts to the evolutions of cloud service providers. The data will be processed according to our model which allows us to easily add new suppliers.

We believe that the Cloud is an essential part of tomorrow's economy and that companies are therefore looking to better manage their hosted resources and optimize their expenses. The Lota team wants to develop a solution adapted to the needs of companies and businesses in the Cloud.

 

Share this article on networks

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Parallax montrant le dashboard Lota;cloud

Le début de l’aventure Lota.cloud

Cette aventure a commencé au Canada après un séjour à Kanata en Ontario. Nous avons été accueillis pendant un mois dans les locaux de Wesley Clover, un de nos investisseurs, où nous avons pu échanger avec de nombreuses entreprises technologiques telles que MitelAirVM ou encore Solace. Ce dernier lançait justement son nouveau service Cloud.

Grâce à ces rencontres, nous avons pris conscience que la migration vers le Cloud est une transformation majeure pour les entreprises. Le passage vers cette nouvelle technologie nécessite des outils de contrôle et gestion efficaces pour un voyage serein.

Le développement du Cloud et de ses problématiques

A l’heure du développement du Cloud et de l’évolution d’Internet, les entreprises migrent de plus en plus d’infrastructures vers des services IaaS/PaaS et remplacent les logiciels métiers par des applications SaaS. Ces services IaaS/PaaS/SaaS ont des modes de paiement par abonnement, en fonction l’usage ou du nombre d’utilisateurs. Ceci entraine une réelle difficulté de gestion et contrôle des dépenses.

Aux premiers abords, le Cloud semble réduire les dépenses car il mutualise les ressources et permet d’ajuster la facture en fonction de son usage. Mais l’environnement Cloud s’avère parfois bien plus complexe à gérer et les coûts peuvent vite devenir incontrôlables. Au fil des rencontres faites auprès des entreprises, voici ce que nous avons constaté :

  • Réattribuer les dépenses par client, collaborateur, projet ou métier n’est pas aisé ;
  • Consolider les factures des différents services Cloud (IaaS/PaaS/SaaS) nécessite du temps ;
  • Analyser la facture en fonction des fournisseurs est complexe et technique ;
  • La gestion d’une infrastructure virtuelle souvent surdimensionnée amène nécessairement à l’optimisation de ses dépenses Cloud.

 

Une start-up pour répondre aux besoins des entreprises

Aujourd’hui l’équipe Lota travaille sur ces difficultés d’usage des services Cloud. La plateforme de « Cost management » Lota.Cloud est un outil dédié à la récupération de l’ensemble des factures Cloud pour permettre aux entreprises de mieux gérer leurs environnements virtuels et optimiser leurs dépenses Cloud. Notre plateforme offre une vision globale des dépenses et donne accès aux détails des coûts de chaque service.

Basée sur son API agnostique, Lota.cloud est agile : la plateforme s’adapte aux évolutions des fournisseurs de services Cloud. Les données seront traitées selon notre modèle qui nous permet d’ajouter facilement de nouveaux fournisseurs.

Nous pensons que le Cloud est un élément incontournable de l’économie de demain et que les entreprises cherchent donc à mieux gérer leurs ressources hébergées et à optimiser leurs dépenses. L’équipe Lota souhaite développer une solution adaptée aux besoins des entreprises et des métiers du Cloud.

 

Des questions, des idées ?

Aujourd’hui l’équipe Lota travaille sur ces difficultés d’usage des services Cloud. La plateforme de « Cost management » Lota.Cloud est un outil dédié à la récupération de l’ensemble des factures Cloud pour permettre aux entreprises de mieux gérer leurs environnements virtuels et optimiser leurs dépenses Cloud. Notre plateforme offre une vision globale des dépenses et donne accès aux détails des coûts de chaque service.

Basée sur son API agnostique, Lota.cloud est agile : la plateforme s’adapte aux évolutions des fournisseurs de services Cloud. Les données seront traitées selon notre modèle qui nous permet d’ajouter facilement de nouveaux fournisseurs.

Nous pensons que le Cloud est un élément incontournable de l’économie de demain et que les entreprises cherchent donc à mieux gérer leurs ressources hébergées et à optimiser leurs dépenses. L’équipe Lota souhaite développer une solution adaptée aux besoins des entreprises et des métiers du Cloud.

 

Partager cet article sur les réseaux

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin